New Desperation Band Recording Reminds Believers To Make God The "Center Of It All"

Featuring Desperation Band Posted on April 5, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (March 2012) - - Integrity Music announces the April 10th global release of Center Of It All from the critically-acclaimed Desperation Band known for songs such as “Overcome,” “I Am Free” and “Yahweh.” The new, 13-track album is the band’s sixth recording and marks the first project under a new contract with their longtime label partner.

And though Center Of It All won’t be available in stores or through digital service providers such as iTunes until April 10th, fans can connect immediately with the new music at http://www.thedbandexperience.com/, a special “pre-sale” site that features exclusive new content leading up to the album’s release.

Anchored by the Desperation Band’s passionate approach to worship, Center Of It All is a bold call for believers to rise up and realize that God is not a priority, but the priority, the “center of it all.”

“We have found that our mission is to help awaken people to the presence of God,” says Desperation Band frontman Jon Egan. “When that happens, everything else falls into place. Our worship then naturally flows into every aspect of our lives. And it flows into action for others… the less fortunate, widows, orphans.”

For the Colorado-based Desperation Band, there’s been no greater calling or privilege than to lead others into God’s presence whether at their home church, New Life in Colorado Springs, or at worship events scattered around the globe. And while the band was originally birthed out of New Life’s student ministry and annual “Desperation” conferences, they have recently seen their reach expand to an even broader, multi-generational audience.

“My heart has always been impacted by young people and what I can do to influence a young heart,” says Egan, an associate worship pastor at New Life. “It’s just part of who we are as a ministry. And I’m finding that it’s best for a young heart to worship with the Church at large… young, old and everywhere in between. It’s in community that we experience the even bigger picture of what God is doing.”

Naturally, that sense of community couldn’t help but make its way into the band’s new album. Turning to trusted friends like producer Paul Mabury (Hillsong, One Sonic Society) and Stu G (Delirious), Egan and bandmates Jared Henderson (drums), Niko Perez (keys), Matt Pacco (electric guitar) and Dan Egan (bass) experienced the inherent beauty of collaboration with like-minded artists.

Joining Jon Egan in the creation of songs for Center Of It All are writers Mia Fields, Matt Redman, Kari Jobe, Meredith Andrews, and SESAC’s Christian Songwriter of the Year, Jason Ingram (Chris Tomlin, Tenth Avenue North) to name a few. Further enhancing that collaborative spirit, Jobe and Ingram also lend their voices to the project while Stu G serves as a guest musician. And Hillsong’s Jimmy Rudder served as the album’s engineer with his wife, Sydney and the band’s labelmates All Sons & Daughters, providing background vocals.

“I think if we’re going to write songs that serve the Church, there’s something spiritually significant about the tracks not pointing back to an individual,” says Egan. “When they point back to a group, something changes because it’s rooted in community.”

With iron sharpening iron throughout the process, the result is a collection of creative, challenging anthems written with the global Church in mind. From the compelling title track that reminds listeners of God’s rightful place, to the personal snapshot of Egan’s own worship journey in “Take Me to the River,” to the epic reflection of God’s many attributes in “Strong God,” Egan says the goal for Center Of It All is for listeners to grab hold of these songs and ultimately make them their own.


The complete tracklist for Center Of It All, including writers, is:

1. All To Him - Jon Egan, Jason Ingram, & Mia Fieldes

2. Wonderful - Jon Egan, Jason Ingram, Paul Mabury & Mia Fieldes

3. Strong God - Jon Egan, Jason Ingram, & Meredith Andrews

4. Magnified - Jon Egan, Jason Ingram, & Paul Mabury

5. God You Are My God - Jason Ingram, Paul Mabury, & Rory Noland

6. My God - Jon Egan, Kari Jobe, & Mia Fieldes

7. Our God Is Coming - Jon Egan

8. Center Of It All - Jon Egan, Matt Redman, Ben Fielding, & Jason Ingram

9. This I Know - Jon Egan & Daniel Grothe

10. You Are The Glory - Jon Egan, Jason Ingram, & Paul Mabury

11. We Will Not Forget - Jon Egan & Jason Ingram

12. Take Me To The River - Jon Egan, Mia Fieldes, & Paul Mabury

13. River Flow - Jon Egan, Mia Fieldes, & Paul Mabury

 In addition to Center Of It All, Desperation Band’s discography includes Desperation, From the Rooftops, Who You Are, Everyone Overcome and Light Up The World. Additional information, including a tour schedule, is available at http://desperationband.com.